A Journey Toward Optimal Health

A Gruesome Eye Opener

One day this last week my sister, mom and I bought a bulk package of Tri-tipped roasts to share. My sister played butcher and cut off all the fat and split the roasts evenly between us. As we were packaging the roast up we decided to weigh the bowl of fat that was taken off the roasts to find out if we really saved any money doing things this way. Well that medium-sized metal mixing bowl mounded full of fat was 6 pounds!

Then it dawned on me. My sister just weighed in the day before at 37.2 pounds less. I had just lost 20.2 pounds and my mother had just lost 6 pounds. When this revelation came to me I announced that my sister has lost more than 6 times what we see in that bowl. Than she announced that I had just lost over 3 times what was in that bowl. And then my mom announced that she had lost what was in that bowl!

You should have seen the looks on our face for about 5 minutes after that, as we pondered silently about how much we still needed to lose! You can’t put a price on the experience we just had.

Comments on: "A Gruesome Eye Opener" (8)

  1. wow, that picture looks disgusting!! LOL
    When you think about losing fat like that it makes you want to get it all off fast!!!!

    • Yes… It also makes you think things like how could have I EVER allowed myself to get this heavy and WOW I’m carrying all that around all the time! It’s definitely a reality check.

  2. Yes, this was a real eye-opener! Funny how we really don’t see it until it is graphically shown to us.

  3. Yuk!!! Looking at this makes me even more committed to losing my extra weight.

  4. lol. Wow, this post was something else. The fat is crazy. Congrats to you, your mom, and your sister for the weight lost. keep it up and off ; )

  5. Congratulations on your success! Man, from the title, I thought it was a picture of gross eye goo or something. Ah, well. A girl can hope! 😛

    Seriously, that’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

